Archive

Insider Report

Umpire Interference

There are two types of umpire interference: (1) When a field umpire (the second base umpire) is positioned in front of the infielders and is struck by a batted ball that is not deflected off another fielder, and (2) when the plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s throw in an attempt to retire a runner. […]

Insider Report

Catcher Interference

In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the plate to receive the throw. Gimenez caught the pitch standing on the plate and threw to second, but Whit was safe. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook made no interference call on Gimenez and Cain remained at bat.

The Royals’ staff was concerned about a catcher’s balk and the possibility of catcher’s interference. This is my take.

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

10. CATCHER’S INTERFERENCE

10. CATCHER’S INTERFERENCE Rules 5.05(b)(3), 5.06(b)(3)(D), 6.01(g)[former Rules 6.08(c), 7.04(d), 7.07]: Under Official Baseball Rule 5.05(b)(3) [former OBR 6.08(c)], if catcher’s inter-ference is called with a play in progress, the umpire will allow the play to contin-ue because the manager may elect to take the play—unless the batter reaches first base and all other runners […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

9. ABANDONING BASE PATH (INCLUDING AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT)

9. ABANDONING BASE PATH (INCLUDING AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT) © MLB Umpire Manual Rules 5.05(a)(2) Comment, 5.09(b)(2) Comment [former Rules 6.09(b) Comment, 7.08(a) & Comment]: Under the Comment to Official Baseball Rule 5.05(a)(2) [former OBR 6.09(b)], a batter who strikes out on a third strike not caught is treated differently than the plays relating to […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

8. FLY BALL STRIKING TOP OF OUTFIELD WALL

8. FLY BALL STRIKING TOP OF OUTFIELD WALL Rule 5.05(a) [former Rule 6.09]: Unless provided otherwise by local ground rule, a fair fly ball striking the top of the outfield wall and bounding back onto the playing field shall be treated the same as a fair fly ball that strikes the outfield wall and rebounds […]

Insider Report

Catcher’s Interference

In the top of the eighth inning of the June 11 Padres-Braves game, the Padres had the bases loaded with two outs trailing 4-3 when Braves catcher Christian Bethancourt was called for “catcher’s interference” when his mitt came in contact with the bat of the Padres Cory Spangenberg allowing Will Myers to score from third. […]