Archive

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

13. TWO RUNNERS IN CONTACT WITH BASE

13. TWO RUNNERS IN CONTACT WITH BASE Rule 5.06(a)(2) [former Rule 7.03]: Under Official Baseball Rule 5.06(a)(2) [former OBR 7.03], if two runners are touching a base at the same time, the following runner is out when tagged (unless, of course, the lead runner is forced).  It is suggested that the umpire clearly indi-cate by […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

12. OVERRUNNING A BASE WITHOUT TOUCHING IT

12. OVERRUNNING A BASE WITHOUT TOUCHING IT Rule 5.06(a)(1) [former Rule 7.01]: A runner does not acquire the right to an unoccupied base on an attempt to retire the runner until he touches it before he is put out. This is true regardless of whether the umpire’s act of not making a call signifies to […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

11. RUNNER PUSHED OFF BASE

11. RUNNER PUSHED OFF BASE Rule 5.06(a)(1) [former Rule 7.01]: If in the judgment of an umpire, a runner is pushed or forced off a base by a fielder, intentionally or unintentionally, at which the runner would have otherwise been called safe, the umpire has the authority and discretion under the circumstances to return the […]

Official Rules of Major League Baseball

5.06 (a) (7.01) Occupying the Base

(a) (7.01) Occupying the Base (1) A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base. Rule 5.06(a)/5.06 (c) Comment (Rule 7.01 Comment): If a runner legally acquires […]