Archive

Insider Report

Batter Interference Coaching Tips

When ruling on batter interference, the plate umpire must distinguish if the catcher’s throw was to prevent a stolen base or to pick-off a runner on a base. He must consider the following:                                            Throw to Prevent a Stolen Base Any movement that hinders the catcher’s play can constitute batter interference. This is true […]

Insider Report

Batter Interferes with Catcher on Backswing

The Red Sox and Rays played at Tropicana Field on August 23, 2016. David Ortiz was batting in the top of the eighth inning with one out and Xander Bogaerts on first base. With Bogaerts attempting to steal second, Ortiz swung and missed a 2-2 Brad Boxberger pitch. Ortiz’ bat came around and struck catcher […]

Insider Report

Batter-Catcher Interference

Batter Interference Whenever the batter interferes following a strikeout and the catcher is attempting to make a play on a runner, the runner being played on is called out as well. Plate umpire Jim Wolff called Ben Zobrist out for batter interference in the top of the first inning of Game Four of the 2015 […]

Insider Report

Catcher’s Throwback to Pitcher Hits Batter

The 53-minute seventh inning of Game 5 of the American League Division Series between Toronto and Texas may prove to be the most bizarre in post-season history. It involved a quirky rule, good Ruleball running, three errors on consecutive plays, and an epic three run homer. It all began in the top of the inning […]

Official Rules of Major League Baseball

6.03 (a) (6.06) A batter out for illegal action

6.03 (a) (6.06) A batter is out for illegal action when: (1) He hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter’s box. Rule 6.03(a)(1) Comment (Rule 6.06(a) Comment): If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while out of the batter’s box, he shall be called out. […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

57. INSPECTION OF AN ILLEGAL BAT

57. INSPECTION OF AN ILLEGAL BAT Rule 6.03(a)(4) [former Rule 6.06(d)]: The following policies are in effect in regard to corked, improperly treated, and otherwise altered bats: First, Official Baseball Rules 3.02(a) through (d) [former Rules 1.10(a) through (d)] and 6.03(a)(4) [former Rule 6.06(d)] are in no way changed or affect-ed by the policies set […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

55. BACKSWING (FOLLOW-THROUGH) HITS CATCHER

55. BACKSWING (FOLLOW-THROUGH) HITS CATCHER Rule 6.03(a)(3) [former Rule 6.06(c)]: If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and in the umpire’s judgment unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of the batter on the follow-through or backswing while the batter is still in the batter’s box, it shall be called a […]

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

7. BATTER’S POSITION IN BATTER’S BOX

7. BATTER’S POSITION IN BATTER’S BOX Rules 5.04(b)(5), 6.03(a)(1) [former Rules 6.03, 6.06]: When the batter assumes a batting stance in the batter’s box, he shall have both feet entirely within the batter’s box; i.e., no part of either foot may extend beyond the outer edge of the lines defining the box when the batter […]