Umpire Category Archive

Insider Report

Runner Interference: Umpire Must Make Decision which Fielder to Protect

The Yankees beat the Indians 7-6 in Cleveland on July 9, 2016. But had it not been for an interference call against Indians’ baserunner Francisco Lindor, the Tribe would have been probable winners.

Insider Report

Twice Out

The Mets beat the Brewers 2-1 in 11 innings on Friday, June 10, 2016 at Miller Park. The Mets scored the winning run in the top of the 11th on a bizarre play that covered multiple rules. Here’s what happened.

Insider Report

Fan on Field

The Mariners hosted the St. Louis Cardinals on June 25. In the top of the fifth inning, the Cardinals had runners on first and second and no outs when Mariners’ left fielder Seth Smith made a catch on a fly ball off the bat of Matt Carpenter just as a fan split between him and center fielder Leonys Martin. It was a bizarre sight. Since Smith made the catch, spectator interference was not called.

Umpire Interpretations of Major League Baseball
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

9. ABANDONING BASE PATH (INCLUDING AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT)

9. ABANDONING BASE PATH (INCLUDING AFTER THIRD STRIKE NOT CAUGHT) © MLB Umpire Manual Rules 5.05(a)(2) Comment, 5.09(b)(2) Comment [former Rules 6.09(b) Comment, 7.08(a) & Comment]: Under the Comment to Official Baseball Rule 5.05(a)(2) [former OBR 6.09(b)], a batter who strikes out on a third strike not caught is treated differently than the plays relating to […]

Blog

A whole lot of bumping going on

Runner on first, no outs. Lazy infield popup down first base line. First baseman and pitcher converge but it seems like it’s a play for the first baseman. As the batter-runner approaches first, he and the pitcher slightly bump which causes the batter-runner to lose his balance and fall. The pitcher also loses his balance […]

Insider Report

Game Ends in Appeal

Sunday’s Reds-D’Backs game in Arizona ended in controversy as it involved a rare double appeal to end the inning and a misinterpretation of the rules by the umpires. With the score tied 3-3 in the bottom of the tenth inning, the D’Backs had the bases loaded with one out when Chris Owings hit a shot […]

Insider Report

Is the Pitcher in the Stretch or Full Wind-up?

A rare balk reversal in the Padres-Rockies game on Sunday at Coors Field led to the ejection of Padres manager Pat Murphy. It involved Rockies pitcher Chris Rusin whose pitching style is controversial to say the least. My comments will follow the article that was written by Corey Brock.  Murphy ejected after balk call is […]

Insider Report

The Legend of Fred Merkle Lives On

The legend of Fred Merkle lives in on in yet another baserunning faux pas that affected the outcome of the game. This one occurred in a New York-Penn League Single-A matchup between the State College Spikes (St. Louis Cardinals) and the West Virginia Black Bears (Pittsburgh Pirates) on Sunday. The Spikes were celebrating what appeared […]