-
- June 10, 2020 at 9:43 am
HighandinParticipantI’m interested in the unintentionally HBP situation. The books says:
<p id=”721″><strong class=”art”>7-2-1 A strike is charged to the batter when:</p>
5. a batter delays (6-2-4d-1If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request “Time,” it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “Time” and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live.
There is no provision in here, or anywhere I can find, on what happens if the batter is HBP in this situation.
Greg posted:
“1. The batter is not granted time, steps out of the box and is unintentionally hit by the pitch:
Dead ball ball unless it’s ball 4 in which case he takes his base & no runners may advance unless forced.”
I’m good with the dead ball part, cause the guy got drilled, however I’m not OK with the “unless it’s ball 4” since location doesn’t matter in NFHS unlike OBR. It’s a penalty.
That said, does the awarding of the penalty for stepping out override the awarding of a base for getting hit?