Reply To: Follow through (backswing interference) – Can a runner advance?

    Greg Spencer
    Participant

    Ben Levin:
    Under no circumstance can a runner advance if the batter commits backswing interference.
    But there is a VERY MAJOR rule difference between High School/NFHS rule code and the OBR and NCAA rule.
    In OBR and NCAA, the runners are simply returned to their bases – no one is called out.
    In High School baseball, THE BATTER IS OUT if he commits backswing interference (the NFHS rule book calls it “follow-through interference”). This is in addition to the penalty that all runners return. If the follow-through interference occurs on a third strike, the batter is already out, so the runner on which the play was being attempted would also be ruled out.

    One correction: NFHS – strike 3 interference – an umpire CAN be called out but it’s not automatic. Judgement call. Say a runner gets a huge jump and no one goes to cover 2nd base. The runner is not out – he returns to first.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.