Reply To: improperly declared Infield fly

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    NFHS 10.2.3(g) case book play: With R2 on second, and R1 on first and no outs, B3 hits an infield fly, but the umpire fails to call “infield fly” Is the infield fly in effect or not?  RULING: Even though the infield fly rule was not announced by the umpire, it is still in effect.  Both teams have the responsibility to know when conditions exist for an infield fly.

     

    The Jaksa/Roder manual makes reference to the relevant high school rules, but does not delineate whether it is consistent or inconsistent with OBR.

    On page 231 (back of book) for the Jaksa/Roder manual reads “NFHS 10.2.3g – The situation, not the declaration of the umpire, determines whether the batter-runner is out on an infield fly. Thus, if all conditions are met for an infield fly but it is not declared, the batter-runner is still out, and the play (including all other outs gained) stands.

    On page 235, NCAA 2-48: The NCAA simply states that the ball is live during a declared or undeclared infield fly and the runners can advance at their own risk.

     

    Thus, you’ve discovered a fine point differential.  NFHS – it is an infield fly regardless  NCAA/OBR – it is a live ball played on unless a double play is obtained by the defense for failure to call a qualified infield fly in which case, the umpires would rectify the situation.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.