The OBR/NCAA runner, if he’s still in play and not in the dugout, must retouch home, third, second, and first before accepting his award to third base without touching a forward base first. If not, he would be subject to being called out on appeal. For example, if an OBR/NCAA runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball went out of play, the runner could not continue forward touching third, and then begin his retreat to second and first…he must immediately retreat and touch second base and then first before advancing. NFHS ruling is different on this play as the runner is only allowed to retreat to one base at all ..in this case, first base…to retouch legally. Although a runner in NFHS could physically retouch all bases in your example before advancing on his award, he would be subject to be called out on appeal as he defined his base as home plate as soon as he re-touched it after the ball going out of play.