Reply To: NFHS-Appeal after a balk or illegal pitch

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    First, a balk or an illegal pitch is considered a play by the offense so “no” they cannot still appeal the play.  However, the pitcher does not need to disengage from the rubber in the set position to throw to third for an appeal so that would not be a balk.  In NFHS, from the wind up, the pitcher can only step off or pitch so a throw to third would be considered an illegal pitch/balk if he did not properly disengage.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.