Reply To: Batter’s Box Triangles

    Daniel Wroblewski
    Participant
    • No, the entire batters box is not in foul territory.
    • The little small triangle is in fair territory (if I understand correctly). More precisely, fair/foul territory is defined by fair/foul line and not affected by batter’s box.
    • If the ball settles in this area, it is fair.
    • If while starting to run to first he hits the ball, I believe he would be safe and the ball foul, as long as the umpire did not think it intentional. The rule is if “his fair ball touches him before touching a fielder” and I would think that if the ball settles on the ground, and he runs into it, this is a foul ball. But I could see others interpreting as interference.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.