Reply To: Returning to third after touching and passing home plate.

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    For Little League, Rule 7.10  – Any runner shall be called out on appeal when – (b) with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, the runner fails to touch each base in order before said runner, or a missed base, is tagged.    A.R.  (Approved Ruling) – No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored.

    The verbiage is a bit out of order for your question, but the above rule states that baserunners may advance or return to a missed base.  However, at home plate, there is an approved ruling that prevents the runner from returning to the base path once a following runner has scored.   If the runner is eligible to return, he is also eligible to be called out on proper appeal by the defense prior to his legal touching of the base he missed.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.