Reply To: Dropped third strike and interference

    nbkhgkhg
    Participant
    Hi JD,

    here is how I see it (under the condition that the batter runner does not intentionally interfere with the fielder):

    • I agree that rule 6.01 a(1) is not applicable, since the catcher has been able to field the ball.
    • 6.01 a(3), however, is IMO not applicable either, since that only applies to the batter, and this batter has already become a (batter-)runner when the third strike was not caught
    • You can’t call him out for abandoning base path after third strike not caught, since he hasn’t left the dirt circle surrounding home plate (see 5.05 (a)(2) Comment)

    Therefore, since we have a runner who unintentionally hinders a fielder fielding a thrown ball, I would say that there is no rule violation and the ball remains in play.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.