Reply To: Learning the rule book

    kanettp30
    Participant
    When a right-handed pitcher makes a pick-off attempt to first base after the coming set, is it ever permissible for his pivot foot to remain in contact with the rubber? Basically, I was questioning a call in my son’s game. The pitcher came to set and stepped towards first but his right foot didn’t come off the rubber. I have always been taught that the pivot foot must clear the rubber before a throw first. Am I wrong?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.