February 8, 2020

Follow Through Interference – Pro Rules

Follow Through Interference – Pro Rules


Follow-through interference is when the bat hits the catcher after the batter has swung at a pitch and hinders action at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner. The batter is entitled to swing at any pitch unhindered by the catcher, but once he does he is responsible for not interfering with any attempt by the catcher to make a defensive play. The follow-through is the batter’s responsibility without exception, so unless the catcher jumps up and moves into the swing, if the bat hits the catcher on the follow-through, it’s the batter’s fault.

If no play is in progress when the contact occurs, there cannot be interference. The pitch is called a strike, the ball is dead and no runner shall advance on the play. If there are two strikes on the batter and the follow-through causes an uncaught third strike, the batter is out and no runners can advance. 


  • It is always the batter’s responsibility to legally follow through their swing
  • There can only be interference if there is a play on the runner
  • Time is called at the end of the playing action, the batter is only out on a third strike
  • Runners return to their base unless the catcher’s initial throw retires the runner

Coaching Note:

  • OBR has nary a reference to follow-through interference. Instead, it is referred to as backswing interference 
  • The follow-through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The backswing is a preparatory movement that involves just what it says – movement of the bat backwards

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.