Insider Reports

Expert analyses of unusual plays, disputed calls, and famous moments in baseball history – illustrated through detailed case studies, rule interpretations, and short videos. Learn to understand complex baseball rules by analyzing real-life plays.

This page shows an entire sample of the kind of Insider Reports you’ll find on Baseball Rules Academy.

Become a member for full access to the Insider Reports library!

Carrasco Delivers an Illegal Pitch

by Rich Marazzi

The Mariners hosted the Indians on June 8, 2016. Kyle Seager was batting in the bottom of the fourth with a 1-2 count, two outs and the bases empty when he grounded out 3 unassisted. But the crew (Mike Muchlinski, John Hirschbeck, D.J. Reyburn and Bill Welke) met and, after about three minutes of discussion, correctly called an illegal pitch on Carlos Carrasco, who had quickly stepped back off the rubber while throwing home. An automatic “Ball” was properly called because there had been no runners on base. Seager then grounded out. During the crew discussion, Welke went into the dugout and talked to the official scorer to get the count right. To be honest, I was surprised it took the crew so long to make a decision regarding an illegal pitch that appeared obvious.

Free access to this report ends here.
Members gain access to more than 100 Insider Reports in their entirety,
as the continuation of this full example shows below.

There are two illegal pitches in baseball:

  1. When the pitcher makes a quick return pitch while the batter is not reasonably set in the batter’s box; and
  2. When a pitcher delivers the pitch with his pivot foot not in contact with the rubber.

In my opinion, Carrasco executed both types of illegal pitches with one pitch.

In both cases, it is a balk with a runner/runners on base. With no runners on base, a “Ball” is charged to the pitcher unless the batter reaches base safely on a hit, error, base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise. If a pitcher delivers an illegal pitch with runners on base it is a balk as stated. If the batter and all runners advance one base, the balk is nullified.

Pitching while not having the pivot foot in contact with the rubber is not as common as the quick pitch but it does occur at times.

The quick pitch usually occurs after the pitcher, in the set position with no runners on base, gets two strikes on the batter. Teams should scout all the “quick pitchers” for the purpose of protecting their hitters.

Watch the play: June 8, 2016, CLE@SEA, “Mariners benefit from attempted quick pitch”