Caleb Cowart Tag Archive

Insider Report

Angels Do Not Score on a “Time Play”

The next day, the Los Angeles Angels beat the Detroit Tigers in Detroit 3-2, despite losing a run on a “Time Play” that could have been pivotal. In the top of the seventh, the Angels had Caleb Cowart on third and Mike Trout on first with one out when Albert Pujols hit a long fly […]

Insider Report

Time Plays

Rule 5.08 (a) covers a “Time Play,” which is umpire lingo. The term “Time Play” is not found in the rule book. Generally speaking, when a third out occurs just before or just after a runner crosses the plate and the third out is not the result of a force out or the batter-runner being retired […]