Mike Moustakas Tag Archive

Insider Report

Batter-Catcher Interference

Batter Interference Whenever the batter interferes following a strikeout and the catcher is attempting to make a play on a runner, the runner being played on is called out as well. Plate umpire Jim Wolff called Ben Zobrist out for batter interference in the top of the first inning of Game Four of the 2015 […]

Insider Report

Obstruction Rule Revisited

The two different obstruction rules (Type A and Type B) came to life this past week. First a brief review of the obstruction rule: Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Contact […]