steal Tag Archive

Video Library

Catcher’s Box

A catcher must stay in his position behind home plate and not interfere with a batter’s ability to swing at the pitch. Normally, on an intentional base on balls, the catcher stands with his glove or hand out and then jumps outside the plate area to catch the pitch. If the catcher moves to a position (usually over home plate) and interferes with a batter’s ability to offer at the pitch, it is interference on the catcher, dead ball, batter awarded 1B. This also commonly happens on a suicide squeeze play. Any runner stealing on the pitch is awarded the next base. Any runner not stealing on the pitch stays at his base unless forced to advance by the base award given to the batter runner.

Official Rules of Little League-Level Baseball

7.07 Balk

Intermediate (50-70) Division/ Junior/ Senior/ Big League: If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or the bat, the pitcher […]

Official Rules of Little League-Level Baseball

6.08 Entitled to First Base

The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided said runner advances to and touches first base) when – (a) four “balls” have been called by the umpire; ball is live and base runners may advance; (b) the batter is touched by a pitched ball which […]

Insider Report

Catcher Interference

In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the plate to receive the throw. Gimenez caught the pitch standing on the plate and threw to second, but Whit was safe. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook made no interference call on Gimenez and Cain remained at bat.

The Royals’ staff was concerned about a catcher’s balk and the possibility of catcher’s interference. This is my take.