Stu Scheurwater Tag Archive

Insider Report

Infield Fly Rule Confusion by Fielder and Umpire

Confusion over the Infield Fly Rule occurred on August 22, 2017, when the Angels hosted the Rangers. In the bottom of the fourth, the Angels had Mike Trout on first and Kaleb Cowart on second and one out when Albert Pujols hit a pop fly in front of the pitcher’s mound. The umpires invoked the […]

Insider Report

Fielder Falls into Stands after Making Catch

I think most players know that if they make a catch while being airborne and fall into the stands, or any dead ball area, the catch is legal as long as the fielder can show the ball to the umpire. What many players don’t know is if there are less than two outs, runners on […]

Insider Report

Umpire Interference

There are two types of umpire interference: (1) When a field umpire (the second base umpire) is positioned in front of the infielders and is struck by a batted ball that is not deflected off another fielder, and (2) when the plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s throw in an attempt to retire a runner. […]