Yasmany Tomas Tag Archive

Insider Report

Fielder Falls into Stands after Making Catch

I think most players know that if they make a catch while being airborne and fall into the stands, or any dead ball area, the catch is legal as long as the fielder can show the ball to the umpire. What many players don’t know is if there are less than two outs, runners on […]

Insider Report

Time Plays

Rule 5.08 (a) covers a “Time Play,” which is umpire lingo. The term “Time Play” is not found in the rule book. Generally speaking, when a third out occurs just before or just after a runner crosses the plate and the third out is not the result of a force out or the batter-runner being retired […]