Yonder Alonso Tag Archive

Insider Report

Time Plays

Rule 5.08 (a) covers a “Time Play,” which is umpire lingo. The term “Time Play” is not found in the rule book. Generally speaking, when a third out occurs just before or just after a runner crosses the plate and the third out is not the result of a force out or the batter-runner being retired […]

Insider Report

Retired Runner Causes Interference

  Runners need to be aware that when they are put out or score, they still have the responsibility of not interfering with a continuing play. Rule 6.01 (a) (5) reads, “It is interference by a batter or a runner when any batter or runner or who has just been put out, or any runner […]