Academy Courses

Automatic Outs

In addition to putting runners or batters out by a caught ball or tag, fielders can be credited with automatic outs by the official scorer in specific situations. These automatic outs can be called on either the Batter or Runner. As those are covered in detail in their respective lessons, we’ll focus on the ways that a catcher or fielder can receive credit, respectively.

Fielder Receives Credit for Automatic Out when…

  • Batter is called out by the Infield Fly rule
  • A batter or runner is called out because of some type of offensive interference [Interference, Obstruction, and Base Path Collisions]
  • A runner is touched by a batter ball
  • A runner is called out for abandoning the base path, with credit going to the nearest fielder that the runner tried to dodge
  • A runner passes the runner in front of him, with credit going to the nearest fielder

Catcher Receives Credit for Automatic Out when…

  • The batter illegally bats the ball
  • The batter bunts a third strike foul
  • The batter is touched by his own batter ball
  • The batter interferes with the catcher [Interference, Obstruction, and Base Path Collisions]
  • An improper batter infraction occurs
  • A batter refuses to advance to first on a walk, or a runner from third neglects to advance to home