Insider Report(view all)

You Can’t Dupe That Eye in the Sky

The Astros hosted the Angels on June 20. Mike Trout was batting in the top of the third with Yunel Escobar on third base, two outs and a 1-2 count. On the next Doug Fister pitch, Trout hit a slow roller up the first baseline that was fielded by Fister, who threw to Marwin Gonzalez at first base for the out. But Trout was awarded first base by plate umpire Ramon De Jesus on a…

The Astros hosted the Angels on June 20. Mike Trout was batting in the top of the third with Yunel Escobar on third base, two outs and a 1-2 count. On the next Doug Fister pitch, Trout hit a slow roller up the first baseline that was fielded by Fister, who threw to Marwin Gonzalez at first base for the out. But Trout was awarded first base by plate umpire Ramon De Jesus on a…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...both the batter and the bat. If that should occur, umpires will most likely award the batter first base since the pitch was excessively wild.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

1 reply
  1. andersjim
    andersjim says:

    One thing that is totally missing from the article and announcers discussion is the fact that the umpire signaled “dead ball.” If an umpire incorrectly calls a fair ball foul the play is dead and does not continue. Why is this different? If I was the Angels manager I’d argue that regardless of whether the ball hit the bat or not the umpire killed the play and the out was recorded afterward.

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply