Insider Report(view all)

Pitcher Throws to Uncovered Base

Cubs manager Joe Maddon was ejected in the bottom of the fourth inning by first base umpire Adam Hamari in the afternoon game of a day/night double header in Cincinnati. The commotion was the result of a balk call made by Hamari on Cubs pitcher Kyle Hendricks that sent Reds’ runner Tucker Barnhart to second base. Hamari judged that Hendricks had no play on Barnhart when he threw to first baseman Anthony Rizzo. The Cubs…

Cubs manager Joe Maddon was ejected in the bottom of the fourth inning by first base umpire Adam Hamari in the afternoon game of a day/night double header in Cincinnati. The commotion was the result of a balk call made by Hamari on Cubs pitcher Kyle Hendricks that sent Reds’ runner Tucker Barnhart to second base. Hamari judged that Hendricks had no play on Barnhart when he threw to first baseman Anthony Rizzo. The Cubs…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...taking a step toward the base as Rizzo did good enough to satisfy the language of “obvious intent to retire the runner?”

I don’t think so.

 

 

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

1 reply
  1. andersjim
    andersjim says:

    I don’t know about that one. Rizzo certainly wasn’t holding the runner on, but was only a few feet from the base. If the runner happened to be leaning, he might have a play. I’ve seen lots of throws to first where there was no possible play, the pitcher just wanted to let the runner know he was thinking about him or tries to get the batter to tip what play was is (show bunt, etc.).

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply