Insider Report(view all)

Q&A: Is this a catch?

Q. In a recent game, our third baseman was going back for a pop fly in foul territory, he misread the ball and got turned around a few times which caused him to become off balance. While he was falling to the ground he reached to catch the ball. As he hit the ground on his back, he simultaneously caught the ball, but the ground caused his glove to come off his hand. He picked…

Q. In a recent game, our third baseman was going back for a pop fly in foul territory, he misread the ball and got turned around a few times which caused him to become off balance. While he was falling to the ground he reached to catch the ball. As he hit the ground on his back, he simultaneously caught the ball, but the ground caused his glove to come off his hand. He picked…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...and the ball is caught by the catcher, it is no catch because once the ball struck the umpire, it was no longer “in flight.”

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply