Insider Report(view all)

Runner Who Just Scored Interferes with Play

In April 2013, Juan Pierre, who had just scored, was called out for interference. Find out why!

An interesting example of the interference rule occurred on April 6, 2013, at Citi Field where the Mets hosted the Marlins. In this play it involved a runner who had just crossed the plate. The Marlins’ Juan Pierre ran into Mets’ catcher John Buck after he scored the tying run. In the top of the seventh inning the Mets were leading 3-2 when Greg Dobbs knocked in Pierre from second base with an RBI single….

An interesting example of the interference rule occurred on April 6, 2013, at Citi Field where the Mets hosted the Marlins. In this play it involved a runner who had just crossed the plate. The Marlins’ Juan Pierre ran into Mets’ catcher John Buck after he scored the tying run. In the top of the seventh inning the Mets were leading 3-2 when Greg Dobbs knocked in Pierre from second base with an RBI single….

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate.”

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply