Insider Report(view all)

Should a Fielder Ever Intentionally Drop an Infield Fly?

Rule 6.05 (L) reads, “A batter is out when an infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, and first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runners shall return to their original base or bases.” But such is not true when a fielder intentionally drops a fly ball that is declared an Infield Fly under the provisions…

Rule 6.05 (L) reads, “A batter is out when an infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, and first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runners shall return to their original base or bases.” But such is not true when a fielder intentionally drops a fly ball that is declared an Infield Fly under the provisions…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...play, Tag play…” There is also the unlikely possibility of a bad throw.

There are risks. But overall, in my opinion the reward outweighs the risk.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply