Insider Report(view all)

Umpires Allow a Pitching Substitution in Violation of Rule 5.10 (i)

What happens when a pitcher crosses a foul line to the mound before the manager calls for a substitution? It could be in violation of a baseball rule. This scenario happened in 2016; let’s analyze what happened and how it could have been avoided.

Rule 5.10 (i) reads, “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is putout or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for, or the pitcher sustains an injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. If the…

Rule 5.10 (i) reads, “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is putout or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for, or the pitcher sustains an injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. If the…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...he crosses the foul line, he will be required to pitch to the batter unless the batter is pinch-hit for or the pitcher is injured.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply