Umpire Interpretations(view all)
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

13. TWO RUNNERS IN CONTACT WITH BASE

13. TWO RUNNERS IN CONTACT WITH BASE

Rule 5.06(a)(2) [former Rule 7.03]:

Under Official Baseball Rule 5.06(a)(2) [former OBR 7.03], if two runners are touching a base at the same time, the following runner is out when tagged (unless, of course, the lead runner is forced).  It is suggested that the umpire clearly indi-cate by pointing which runner has been declared out in such situations.  See Official Baseball Rules 5.06(a)(2) and 5.06(b)(2) [former OBRs 7.03(a) and 7.03(b)].