Umpire Interpretations(view all)
(©MLB Umpire Manual)

15. DETACHED EQUIPMENT TOUCHING PITCHED OR BATTED BALL

15. DETACHED EQUIPMENT TOUCHING PITCHED OR BATTED BALL

Rule 5.06(b)(4)(C) [former Rule 7.05(c)]:

Any defensive player deliberately touching a batted ball over foul territory that, in the umpire’s judgment, has an opportunity to become a fair ball with detached equipment will entitle all runners—including the batter-runner—to advance three bases from the time the ball was touched without liability to be put out. The ball is in play, and runners may advance beyond the awarded base at their own risk. If a defensive player deliberately touches a batted ball over foul territory that, in the umpire’s judgment, clearly has no opportunity to become a fair ball, the umpire shall rule a foul ball.

See also Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(4)(C) [former OBR 7.05(c)].