Video Library(view all)

Bunt on a Wild Pitch

When a batter is in a bunting position with his bat extended over the plate and the pitcher delivers a wild pitch nowhere near the strike zone but the batter never pulls the bat back, is it a strike on the batter? No, it is a strike on the batter only if he makes an attempt to make contact with the pitch. Sometimes the home plate umpire will need to ask a base umpire for help to determine if the batter actually attempted to make contact with the pitch.

Become a Member

Membership unlocks a full video transcript

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.