Reply To: Stretch, set and pitcher’s plate

    Stan Dyer
    Participant
    In the first example, it is illegal for the pitcher to take signs from the catcher when not engaged with the pitcher’s plate.  This is a balk.  There is, however, no balk simply for throwing to a base from behind the pitcher’s plate.  It is an important distinction because, as a “fielder,” a ball thrown out of play would be a two base award.  If the pitcher were engaged with the pitcher’s plate when he threw out of play, the award would only be one base.

    In the second example, I see this a lot.  It is difficult for the plate umpire to see this, but it is legal as long as pitcher has the ball, and the team is not trying a hidden ball trick.  If the pitcher took the same stance without the ball, it would be a balk.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.