Reply To: Follow through (backswing interference) – Can a runner advance?

    Ben Levin
    Participant
    Under no circumstance can a runner advance if the batter commits backswing interference.

    But there is a VERY MAJOR rule difference between High School/NFHS rule code and the OBR and NCAA rule.

    In OBR and NCAA, the runners are simply returned to their bases – no one is called out.

    In High School baseball, THE BATTER IS OUT if he commits backswing interference (the NFHS rule book calls it “follow-through interference”).  This is in addition to the penalty that all runners return.  If the follow-through interference occurs on a third strike, the batter is already out, so the runner on which the play was being attempted would also be ruled out.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.