Reply To: Follow through (backswing interference) – Can a runner advance?

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    NFHS ruling difference only applies if runner is stealing on the pitch.  If so, the batter is out, and the runner is returned…unless you had two strikes in which the batter was already out so you would get the runner as well.   In OBR, the batter is safe, and the stealing runner is returned to TOP.  However, under NFHS rules if the contact takes the catcher down, dropping the ball, and the runner begins his advance as a result of the backswing interference, then “time” is called and the runner is simply returned to his TOP base with the batter remaining at the plate.  This scenario would be in line with OBR.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.