6.02 Batter’s Box

6.02 Batter’s Box

(a) The batter shall take a position in the batter’s box promptly when it is said batter’s time at bat.

(b) The batter shall not leave that position in the batter’s box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts a windup.
PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call “Ball” or “Strike” as the case may be.

(c) If the batter refuses to take a position in the batter’s box during a time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter without the need for a pitch to be delivered. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take a proper position, and the regular ball and strike count shall continue, but if the batter does not take the proper position before three strikes are called, that batter shall be declared out.

July 18, 2019
Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.