INTERFERENCE WITH INTERVENING PLAY
Play: Play at the plate on runner attempting to score; runner is called safe. A following play is made on the batter-runner, who is called out for interference outside the three-foot lane.
Ruling: With less than two outs, the run scores and batter-runner is out. With two outs, the run does not count. The reasoning is that an intervening play occurred before the interference. Runners would return to base last legally touched at the time of interference. However, with two outs, the runner reached home on a play in which the batter-runner was out before reaching first base. (See also last paragraph in Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)).