NCAA 10-14 Assist


NCAA 10-14 Assist


SECTION 14.     a. An assist is credited to a fielder when he handles or effectively deflects the ball during action that is connected with a putout or he handles the ball before an error that prevents what would have been a putout. If several fielders handle the ball or one fielder handles it more than once during a play, only one assist is credited to each of such fielders.

b. Do not credit the pitcher with an assist on a strikeout or when after a pitch the catcher tags out or throws out a runner.

Note: A play that follows a misplay (whether or not it is an error) is a new play, and the fielder making any misplay shall not be credited with an assist unless he takes part in the new play.

November 12, 2019
Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.