NCAA 10-16 Error

NCAA 10-16 Error


SECTION 16.     a. An error is charged against any fielder (pitchers included) for each misplay that prolongs the time at bat of the batter or the time as a base runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases.

Note 1: Slow handling of the ball that does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error.

Note 2: It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder’s legs or a pop fly falls untouched and, in the scorer’s judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, an error should be charged.

Note 3: Mental mistakes or misjudgments are not to be scored as errors unless specifically covered in the rules.

b. An error shall be charged against any fielder when he catches a thrown ball or a ground ball in time to put out any runner on a force play and fails to tag the base or the runner, including a batter-runner on a play at first base.

c. An error shall be charged against any fielder whose throw takes an unnatural bounce, touches a base or the pitcher’s rubber, or touches a runner, a fielder or an umpire, thereby permitting any runner to advance. Apply this rule even when it appears to be an injustice to a fielder whose throw was accurate. Every base advanced must be accounted for.

d. Charge only one error on any wild throw, regardless of the number of bases advanced by runners.

e. An error shall be charged against any fielder whose failure to stop, or try to stop, an accurately thrown ball permits a runner to advance, providing there was occasion for the throw. If, in the scorer’s judgment, there was no occasion for the throw, an error shall be charged to the fielder who threw the ball.


1) A base on balls, a base awarded to a batter for being hit by a pitched ball, a balk, a passed ball or a wild pitch shall not be scored as an error.

2) No error is charged to the catcher for a wild throw in an attempt to prevent a stolen base unless the base runner advances an extra base because of a wild throw.

3) No player is charged with an error for a poor throw in an attempt to complete a double play unless the throw is so wild that it permits a runner to advance an additional base. However, if a player drops a thrown ball when by holding it he would have completed a double play, it is an error.

4) A fielder is not charged with an error for accurately throwing to a base whose baseman fails to stop or try to stop the ball, provided there was good reason for such a throw. If the runner advances because of the throw, the error is charged to the baseman or fielder who should have covered that base.

5) If a fielder drops a fly ball or fumbles a ground ball, but recovers the ball in time to force a runner, he is not charged with an error.

6) No error shall be charged against any fielder who permits a foul fly to fall safely with a runner on third base and fewer than two outs if, in the judgment of the official scorer, the fielder deliberately allows the ball to fall in order to prevent the runner on third from scoring after a catch.

f. When an umpire awards the batter or any runner or runners one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, runner or runners, may be advanced.

Note: Do not charge an error if obstruction does not change the play in the opinion of the scorer.

November 12, 2019
Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.