Miami Marlins

Expert Analysis

Three Balks in the Same Inning!

Topics: Expert Analysis

Rule 6.02 (a) (13) reads, “If there is a runner or runners on base, it is a balk when the pitcher delivers the pitch from Set Position without coming to a stop.” Just when you think you’ve seen everything… In the bottom of the eighth inning of the Marlins-Mets game on September 27, 2022 at…

Expert Analysis

2022 Rules Questions: September Edition

Topics: Expert Analysis

Runner Obstructed During Rundown Question: See the above attachment before reading this play. In this situation, the runner going from second to third is obstructed during the rundown. I know this is a Type 1 obstruction because there was a play being directly made on the runner. The umpires awarded the obstructed runner third base…

Expert Analysis

Legal Catch Controversies from 2022 MLB Season

Topics: Expert Analysis

The official definition of the “Catch” rule that is referenced in this report: A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform…

Expert Analysis

Collisions at Home Plate – Rule 6.01 (i)

Topics: Expert Analysis

Play No. 1 The Blue Jays and Twins met at Target Field on Aug. 7, 2022.  In the top of the tenth, with the score tied 2-2, the Jays had Whit Merrifield on third base and one out when Cavan Biggio hit a fly ball to left fielder Tim Beckham who threw home to catcher…

Expert Analysis

MLB Umpires Utilizing Rule 8.02 (c)

Topics: Expert Analysis

The D’backs and Braves played at Truist Park on July 31, 2022.  In the bottom of the second, the Braves had Austin Riley on second and Travis d’Arnaud on first with one out when William Contreras hit a drive to left field. Jake McCarthy, the D’backs’ left fielder, “snared” the ball and carried it a…

Expert Analysis

Buck Showalter and the Mets Win a Double Challenge

Topics: Expert Analysis

In the June 24th Mets – Marlins game, the Mets won an unusual double challenge in their 5-3 win. In the top of the sixth inning with the score tied 2-2, Brandon Nimmo was on first and Tomas Nido on second with no outs when Starling Marte ripped a ground ball to Willians Astudillo. The…

Expert Analysis

6 Rules Questions Answered by Rich Marazzi

Topics: Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference

Question #1 – Can Interference Be Unintentional  Q. In the April 30th, Jersey Shore BlueClaws (Phillies) vs Aberdeen IronBirds (Orioles) South Atlantic League game, the following play occurred. Should the batter have been called for interference? Aberdeen had Adley Rutschman on second, Coby Mayo on first with Jacob Teter at bat and less than two outs. Mick Abel was pitching for Jersey Shore…

Expert Analysis

Marlins Park- Miami Marlins

Topics: Ground Rules

https://www.mlb.com/groundrules/venue-4169

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.