Oswaldo Cabrera

Expert Analysis

Runner Fails to Retouch Base

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Yankees and Red Sox played at Fenway on September 13, 2022. In the top of the second, the Yankees had Oswaldo Cabrera on first base and one out when Miguel Andújar, facing Nick Pivetta, hit a fly ball to Alex Verdugo in right field. Cabrera, who was off with the pitch, went beyond second…

Expert Analysis

Legal Catch Controversies from 2022 MLB Season

Topics: Expert Analysis

The official definition of the “Catch” rule that is referenced in this report: A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.