umpire’s judgment Tag Archive
Is it a ball or a strike? Only your umpire knows! A crazy strike three was recently called in a minor league game between the Hartford Yard Goats (Rockies) and Binghamton Rumble Ponies (Mets) when the pitcher, Cory Burns, stumbled during his delivery and the pitch rolled towards the first base line well away from […]
When a batter is in a bunting position with his bat extended over the plate and the pitcher delivers a wild pitch nowhere near the strike zone but the batter never pulls the bat back, is it a strike on the batter? No, it is a strike on the batter only if he makes an attempt to make contact with the pitch. Sometimes the home plate umpire will need to ask a base umpire for help to determine if the batter actually attempted to make contact with the pitch.