Academy Courses

No Obstruction

It is not obstruction when:

  • Fielder is attempting to field a batted ball. The fielder always has the right-of-way when fielding a batted ball.
  • Fielder is attempting to field a thrown ball. The fielder has a right to be in the path of the runner so long as the umpire judges that the fielder needed to be there to field the thrown ball.
  • Fielder has the ball and is attempting to tag the runner. In this case both runner and fielder have a right to the same spot.