Academy Courses

Unusual Instances of Offensive Interference

The rules of offensive interference apply to players in the dugout, in the on-deck circle and the base coaches. So, everyone on your team needs to be aware of the consequences of interference.

Players in the Dugout

Interference on players in the dugout is rare except for the foul pop up that drifts towards the offensive team’s dugout. If a fielder goes to the dugout area (in play) he is protected and must not be interfered with as defined by the rule: obstructed, hindered, impeded or confused.

Players in the On Deck Circle

Players in the on-deck circle can be called for interference, too. If there is a pop up, wild pitch, passed ball, or wild throw that bounds into the area of the on deck circle, the batter must give way to the fielder making the play. This includes vacating the on deck circle and allowing the fielder room to make the play.

Base Coach Interference

There are two ways a Base Coach can be charged with interference, both of which are penalized by the affected runner being called out.

The first is when a first or third base coach physically assists the runner to “touch or hold” the base he intends to acquire. For instance, if a runner over-slides into third and the third base coach stops his momentum to remain in contact with the base, that runner will be called out. [6.01(a)(8)]

Additionally, if the base coach directly interferes with a fielder making a play, it would be penalized like any other instance of offensive interference [6.01(a)(9)]. Like other types of interference, there does not have to be contact for interference to be called. An unusual or quick action by the coach intended to draw a throw from the defense is a case for interference. Attempting to startle of confuse the defense is another violation of the interference rule.