Official Rules(view all)

9.09 Putouts

9.09 Putouts

A putout is a statistic credited to a fielder whose action causes the out of a batter-runner or runner, as set forth in this Rule 9.09 (Rule 10.09).

(a) The official scorer shall credit a putout to each fielder who

(1)  catches a ball that is in flight, whether fair or foul;

(2)  catches a batted or thrown ball and tags a base to put out a batter or runner; or

Rule 9.09(a)(2) Comment: The official scorer shall credit a fielder with a putout if such fielder catches a thrown ball and tags a base to record an out on an appeal play.

(3)  tags a runner when the runner is off the base to which the runner is entitled.

(b) The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a:

(1)  batter is called out on strikes;

(2)  batter is called out for an illegally batted ball;

(3)  batter is called out for bunting foul for his third strike;

Rule 9.09(b)(3) Comment: Note the exception in Rule 9.15(a)(4) (Rule 10.15(a)(4)).

(4)  batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;

(5)  batter is called out for interfering with the catcher;

(6)  batter is called out for failing to bat in his proper turn;

Rule 9.09(b)(6) Comment: See Rule 9.03(d) (Rule 10.03(d).

(7)  batter is called out for refusing to touch first base after receiving a base on balls, after being hit by a pitch or after a catcher’s interference; or

(8)  runner is called out for refusing to advance from third base to home plate.

(c) The official scorer shall credit automatic putouts as follows (and shall credit no assists on these plays except as specified):

(1) When the batter is called out on an Infield Fly that is not caught, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder who the scorer believes could have made the catch;

(2) When a runner is called out for being touched by a fair ball (including an Infield Fly), the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder nearest the ball;

(3) When a runner is called out for running out of line to avoid being tagged, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder whom the runner avoided;

(4) When a runner is called out for passing another runner, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder nearest the point of passing;

(5) When a runner is called out for running the bases in reverse order, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder covering the base the runner left in starting his reverse run;

(6) When a runner is called out for having interfered with a fielder, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder with whom the runner interfered, unless the fielder was in the act of throwing the ball when the interference occurred, in which case the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder for whom the throw was intended and shall credit an assist to the fielder whose throw was interfered with; or

(7) When the batter-runner is called out because of interference by a preceding runner, as provided in Rule 6.01(a)(5) (Rule 6.08(m)), the official scorer shall credit the putout to the first baseman. If the fielder interfered with was in the act of throwing the ball, the official scorer shall credit such fielder with an assist but shall credit only one assist on any one play under the provisions of Rules 9.09(c)(6) and 9.09(c)(7) (Rules 10.09(c)(6) and 10.09(c)(7)).