Blog

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead […]

MLB TO USE PITCH TIMER DURING ’19 SPRING TRAINING

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 22, 2019 MLB ANNOUNCES FORMAT OF PITCH TIMER DURING SPRING TRAINING Major League Baseball (MLB) today announced the format of a pitch timer that will be used during 2019 Spring Training games. No decision has been made on whether the timer will be used in regular season games. A 20-second pitch […]

Deflected Balls Go Into Dead Ball Territory

Deflected Balls That Go into Dead Ball Territory: Part I This is the first of a three-part series involving rules that relate to pitched, thrown and batted balls that are deflected into dead ball territory or remain in play.  In this edition, I’ll cover deflections that go into dead ball territory on throws from the […]

New Twists for Umpire Interference

Crazy Play That Happened in Dominican Republic Winter Ball The following play occurred in late November in a Dominican Republic winter league game between Gigantes and Toros. Gigantes had a runner on first when the batter hit a scorching line drive over the center fielder’s head. While the four umpires were rotating, the plate umpire […]

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Can a runner go back and tag a missed base while the ball is dead?

Can a runner go back and tag a missed base while the ball is dead? Well, that depends. Here are some circumstances to consider. For instance, if a batter-runner misses first base and his fair batted ball ends-up in the seats for a book-rule double, he can still return to touch his missed base while […]

Runners Passing Runners, Oh My!

Passing the Runner: Rule 5.09 (b) (9) The passing the runner rule might be best understood if it read, “When two runners cross each other on the base paths while the ball is in play via a base hit, home run, error etc., the trail runner is called out.”  The ball remains alive and in […]

MLB Umpires Misinterpret Mound Visit Rule

Under rule 5.10 (L), (3) (4), a manager is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same hitter is at bat but if a pinch-hitter is substituted for the batter, the manager or coach may then make a second visit to the mound but must then remove the pitcher. The D’backs […]

Oops! MLB Umpire Catches Wild Pitch

In the July 27, 2018 Jays-White Sox game in Chicago, top of the fifth inning, Curtis Granderson was batting for the Jays with Russell Martin on third, Randal Grichuk on second, and Devon Travis on first with one out.  Sox pitcher Thyago Vieira unleashed a wild one. The ball bounced in the dirt and was […]