Reply To: improperly declared Infield fly

    Greg Spencer
    Participant

    Chris Welsh:

    A fly ball that meets all the requirements for an infield fly, but is not declared as such, is not an infield fly. Resulting action is allowed; however, the umpires should not allow a double play that the infield fly rule was intended to prevent. [NFHS 10.2.3g] [NCAA 2-48]

    Chris, I’m not sure exactly what that last sentence is saying.
    The NFHS rulebook and casebook say that even if the umpire fails to signify IFF it’s still IFF it it meets the requirements. We don’t make any adjustments to the rule just because we failed to signal.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.