improperly declared Infield fly

  • Post
    Mooch
    Participant
    2176
    2nd and 3rd, no outs. B1 pops up to the 2nd baseman. Umpires declare infield fly. Pop up qualified as fly, was not a bunt or line drive.  Ruling for MLB and NFHS.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Replies
      tenduramax2
      Participant
      1010
      From a rule standpoint there would be nothing to fix since it would be impossible to invoke the rule in the first place. The ball is live and treated just like any other fly ball and whatever happens on the play stands.
      Greg Spencer
      Participant
      1160
      The questions would only arise if the ball was not caught. If the defense does not retire the batter at first base he will be safe (and I will have to eat it with the defensive coach).
      Chris Welsh
      Keymaster
      1781
      This is from Jaska/Roder “The Rules of Professional Baseball.”

      If an infield fly is improperly declared due to the lack of conditions in 3(a) above or because the batted ball was a bunt (aspects of the rule not requiring umpire judgment), the batter is not out. Both teams are required to know that the fly was not an infield fly, even though it was declared as such. The declared infield fly is nullified due to the impossibility of its existence, and the play stands.

       

      A fly ball that meets all the requirements for an infield fly, but is not declared as such, is not an infield fly. Resulting action is allowed; however, the umpires should not allow a double play that the infield fly rule was intended to prevent. [NFHS 10.2.3g] [NCAA 2-48]

       

      Greg Spencer
      Participant
      1160

      Chris Welsh:

      A fly ball that meets all the requirements for an infield fly, but is not declared as such, is not an infield fly. Resulting action is allowed; however, the umpires should not allow a double play that the infield fly rule was intended to prevent. [NFHS 10.2.3g] [NCAA 2-48]

      Chris, I’m not sure exactly what that last sentence is saying.
      The NFHS rulebook and casebook say that even if the umpire fails to signify IFF it’s still IFF it it meets the requirements. We don’t make any adjustments to the rule just because we failed to signal.

      tzemaitis
      Participant
      4917
      NFHS 10.2.3(g) case book play: With R2 on second, and R1 on first and no outs, B3 hits an infield fly, but the umpire fails to call “infield fly” Is the infield fly in effect or not?  RULING: Even though the infield fly rule was not announced by the umpire, it is still in effect.  Both teams have the responsibility to know when conditions exist for an infield fly.

       

      The Jaksa/Roder manual makes reference to the relevant high school rules, but does not delineate whether it is consistent or inconsistent with OBR.

      On page 231 (back of book) for the Jaksa/Roder manual reads “NFHS 10.2.3g – The situation, not the declaration of the umpire, determines whether the batter-runner is out on an infield fly. Thus, if all conditions are met for an infield fly but it is not declared, the batter-runner is still out, and the play (including all other outs gained) stands.

      On page 235, NCAA 2-48: The NCAA simply states that the ball is live during a declared or undeclared infield fly and the runners can advance at their own risk.

       

      Thus, you’ve discovered a fine point differential.  NFHS – it is an infield fly regardless  NCAA/OBR – it is a live ball played on unless a double play is obtained by the defense for failure to call a qualified infield fly in which case, the umpires would rectify the situation.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.