Reply To: Is batter/runner protected past 1B after a base on balls according to NFHS rules

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    The runner who got HBP and sprinted down to 1st is in a dead ball situation for the HBP.  The umpire should not put the ball back in play until after he’s re-touched first so it would be impossible to call him out over running 1st in this situation.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.