Reply To: Retouching bases after an out of play award of bases

    Stan Dyer
    Participant
    He could be awarded the bases, but it is my understanding that a player cannot return to touch a base missed once the ball has gone out of play.  So, the umpire might award the bases, and the runner might touch every base going back, but, if the defense appealed the missed base, the runner would be out.  “Last Time By” does not apply in this instance.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.