Retouching bases after an out of play award of bases

  • Post
    Denis
    Participant
    Runner on 1st. 0 out. The batter hits a deep fly ball to the gap in left-centre field. The runner from 1st takes off on the hit thinking the ball cannot be caught. The centre fielder makes a diving catch as the runner is between 2nd base and 3rd base. The runner does not see the catch and continues to round the bases. The defence throws the ball back to 1st base but the throw is wild. The runner crosses home plate just before the ball bounds out of play. The umpire awards the runner 3rd base. Can the runner go straight to 1st and the proceed to 3rd base touching 2nd on the way or must he return to 1st in reverse order touching all bases on the way before advancing on the award.
Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      The OBR/NCAA runner, if he’s still in play and not in the dugout, must retouch home, third, second, and first before accepting his award to third base without touching a forward base first. If not, he would be subject to being called out on appeal.  For example, if an OBR/NCAA runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball went out of play, the runner could not continue forward touching third, and then begin his retreat to second and first…he must immediately retreat and touch second base and then first before advancing.  NFHS ruling is different on this play as the runner is only allowed to retreat to one base at all ..in this case, first base…to retouch legally.  Although a runner in NFHS could physically retouch all bases in your example before advancing on his award, he would be subject to be called out on appeal as he defined his base as home plate as soon as he re-touched it after the ball going out of play.
      J.D. Leenen
      Participant
      Seems to me the runner only needs to retouch home plate and perhaps 3rd base. Then he could cut straight accross the mound to 1st base and after touching it go to 3rd via and touching 2nd base. Here the so called “last time by”-principle would apply. Perhaps the runner does not even have to retouch 3rd before going back to 1st. I am curious what an MLB umpire would say on this matter.

      JDL

      tzemaitis
      Participant
      All bases must be retouched in the reverse order or be subject to being called out on appeal. .  “Last time by” would not apply in your proposed situation as cutting across the diamond would be an egregious miss of the base which then nullifies the ability to use of “last time by”.
      jina kim
      Participant
      hg5r7ewtg
      jina kim
      Participant
      j5h4f8t6
      jina kim
      Participant
      x3v6g4f7
      jina kim
      Participant
      s6f9r8e1
      jina kim
      Participant
      x5v2f6r8
      jina kim
      Participant
      a6df9e8
      jina kim
      Participant
      t9r8w5q36
      jina kim
      Participant
      a6f9r8e5
      jina kim
      Participant
      k69t8r5
      Stan Dyer
      Participant
      He could be awarded the bases, but it is my understanding that a player cannot return to touch a base missed once the ball has gone out of play.  So, the umpire might award the bases, and the runner might touch every base going back, but, if the defense appealed the missed base, the runner would be out.  “Last Time By” does not apply in this instance.
        Highandin
        Participant
        That’s my thought too Stan:

        <strong class=”art”>8-2-5   If a runner who misses any base (including home plate) or leaves a base too early, desires to return to touch the base, he must do so immediately. If the ball becomes dead and the runner is on or beyond a succeeding base, he cannot return to the missed base and, therefore, is subject to being declared out upon proper and successful appeal. (NFHS)

      tatetaml
      Participant
      OBR says when the ball is dead a runner may return to a base he left too soon if he has not touched the next base from the time the ball goes out of play. In your scenario, the runner crosses home plate before the ball enters out of play, therefore he technically has no “next base” since that refers to the position of the runner the time the ball went out of play (as stated above). In this situation the runner should be able to touch home, 3rd, 2nd, retouch 1st go back to 2nd then 3rd, and be legal and not out on appeal if the defense tries to do so.

      5.09(c)(2) Comment

      One question that was left unanswered was where the runner was the moment the throw left the outfielder’s hand, if he is only awarded 3rd, we would be lead to believe he was between 1st and 2nd. It is a 2 base award from the time the throw left the fielder’s hand.

      Great play to think about!
      <h1></h1>

        Highandin
        Participant
        It reads to me like he was between second and third: “The centre fielder makes a diving catch as the runner is between 2nd base and 3rd base. The runner does not see the catch and continues to round the bases.” However, I think the award is still from 1B since he had not ‘legally acquired’ 2B.
      Bill Percival
      Participant
      My question is a little different scenario runner on first rounds second to third left fielder catches on fly. Throws to 2nd base. Can infielder step on 2nd for out before runner returns since he is has to tag 2nd on way back
Viewing 14 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.